The 2011 New Year Honours List has been published, and figures in the museum and heritage sector are well represented, although no new Knights nor Dames were awarded in this particular list. Leading the group is Dr. Christopher Brown, Director of the Ashmolean Museum at the University of Oxford, who has been awarded a CBE for services to museums.   Dr. Brown oversaw the £61 million redevelopment of the museum, which reopened to critical acclaim in November, 2009.

Other CBE awards were given to Carole Souter, Chief Executive of the National Heritage Memorial Fund and Heritage Lottery FundJanet Vitmayer, Director of the Horniman Museum in London, and Professor Stephen Blackmore, the Regius Keeper (Director) of the Royal Botanic Garden in Scotland.

Other honours were given to individuals associated with the Vindolanda Trust, the Victoria & Albert Museum, National Gallery, National Railway Museum, Clifton Park Museum, Royal College of Art and Visit York, amongst others.  The full list of individuals awarded honours working in the museums and heritage sector is listed below.

Commanders of the Order of the British Empire (CBE)

Dr Christopher Paul Hadley Brown
Director, Ashmolean Museum, University of Oxford. For services to Museums.

Professor Stephen Blackmore
Regius Keeper, Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh. For services to Plant Conservation.

Carole Lesley Souter
Chief Executive, National Heritage Memorial Fund and Heritage Lottery Fund. For services to Conservation.

Ms Janet Vitmayer
Chief Executive and Director, Horniman Museum. For services to Museums.

Officers of the Order of the British Empire (OBE)

Helen Ashby
Curator, National Railway Museum, York. For services to Heritage.

Robert Balmer
For services to Maritime Heritage in the North East.

Mark Laurence Bensted
Lately London Director, British Waterways. For services to the Marine Industry.

Professor Wendy Dagworthy
Professor and Head, Department of Fashion and Head, School of Fashion and Textiles,
Royal College of Art. For services to the Fashion Industry.

Dr Dillian Rosalind Gordon
Lately Curator, National Gallery. For services to Early Italian Painting.

Peter Kyle
Lately Chief Executive, Shakespeare's Globe Theatre. For services to Drama.

Sonia Rolt, FRS
For services to Industrial Archaeology and to Heritage.

Members of the Order of the British Empire (MBE)

Patricia Selina Birley
Co-Founder, Vindolanda Trust. For services to Roman Heritage in Northumberland.

Gavin James Booth
For services to the UK Antarctic Heritage Trust.

Peter Brown
Director, Fairfax House. For services to Heritage in York.

Elizabeth Anne Buchanan
Commercial Partners Director, VisitScotland. For services to the Tourist Industry.

Jane Elizabeth Colclough
Lead Custodian, Rhuddlan Castle, Welsh Assembly Government.

Gillian Margaret Cruddas
Chief Executive, Visit York. For services to the Tourist Industry.

Elizabeth Anne Hamilton
For voluntary service to the Victoria and Albert Museum.

Professor Eric Raymond Johnson
Founder, Staffordshire Film Archive. For services to the Arts.

Dr Elizabeth Mackenzie
For services to Museums including British Association of Friends of Museums

Joyce Williams
For services to Clifton Park Museum, Rotherham.

Ms Dorothy Wilson
Artistic Director and Chief Executive, Midlands Arts Centre. For services to the Arts.

Adam Kenneth Wilton
For services to the UK Antarctic Heritage Trust.